Which languages are federally certified?

When the Court Interpreters Act of 1978 (28 USC 1827) became law, the federal courts developed certification testing in three languages: Spanish, Haitian Creole and Navajo. However, federal certification for Haitian Creole and Navajo has not been offered since 1991, and at present, the only certification offered at the federal level is for Spanish-language interpreters.

Federal courts are required to secure the services of a federally certified Spanish interpreter. However, if no federally certified interpreter is reasonably available, the court may use the services of an “otherwise qualified interpreter.” (28 USC ?1827(b)(2).

Comments are closed.