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UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

NO. 94-19

IN RE: GENERAL LOCAL RULE : O ::
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ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER

i

Pursuant to a vote of the United States Distriét é?dg&s of
this Court,, Southern District of Florida, it is herebylj

ORDERED

That this order supersedes all previous Orders establishing in
the Southern District of Florida a plan known as the Forfeiture of
Collateral System for the National Park Service. From the date of
this Order, all forfeiture of collateral on petty offenses shall be
handled in accordance with General Local Rule 88.4 and the
schedules attached to this Order.

Under the plan, collateral may be posted in lieu of the
personal appearance of a person charged with certain petty offenses
under the laws or regulations of the United States. Upon the
failure of the person charged with a petty offense violation to
appear before the United States Magistrate Judge for trial of the
offense, collateral in the appropriate amount, as shown on the
attached schedules, shall be forfeited to the United States and
serve as the fine for said offense. The posting of collateral
shall signify that the person accused does not contest the charge
or request a hearing. Forfeiture of collateral shall constitute an
admission of guilt.

Nothing herein shall prohibit a United States Magistrate

M



Judge, or law enforcement officer, from requiring the personal
appearance of the person accused before the Magistrate Judge,
whether the offense to be charged appears in the schedule or does
not appear.

Offenses for which collateral may be posted in 1lieu Sf
appearances and the amount of said collateral shall be as shown on

the Schedule of Violations and Fines attached hereto.

DONE AND ORDERED at Miami, Florida, this [ day of A/}Zy

1994. _
FOR ZHE COURT:

CHIE¥ UNITED STATES DISTRWCT JODGE
NORMAN C. ROETTGER

cc: All United States District Judges
All United States Magistrate Judges
United States Attorney



COLLATERAL SCHEDULE
NATIONAL PARK SERVICE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

RECOMMENDED REVISIONS

On the following pages, you will find listed the sections of Title 36 of
the Code of Federal Regqulations, which are commonly enforced by the
National Park Service.

The National Park Service has expressed a concern that this District
closely communicate with the Middle District of Florida during this
process. Both Everglades National Park and Big Cypress National Preserve
lie partially within both Districts. It is recommended that the two
Districts agree on the same collateral schedule in order to provide the
public with consistency in dealing with violations, as well as to prevent
an administrative nightmare for the National Park Service.

TITLE 36, CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS:

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sect. Current New Recommended
Fine

1.5 Closures and Public Use Limits

(f) Closure Violations $30 $75

1.6 Permits

(g) No Permit/Permit Violation (special use) $150 $150

1.10 Symbolic Signs

(a)

Engaging in Activity Symbolized by $30  §75
Sign Bearing Slash Mark

»SOURCE PROTECTION, PUBLIC USE & RECREATION



Sect. Current Recomm.

Jo1 Preservation of Natural, Cultural, Archeological Resources

(a) (1) Possessing/Injuring/Removing/Disturbing $50 $150

(a)(2) Introducing Wildlife/Fish/Plants $50 $100

(a) (4) Using/Possessing Wood (does not include $50 $100
dead & down wood where permitted for fires)

(a) (7) Possessing/Using Metal Detectors $50 $100

(c)(3) Gathering/Possessing/Removal of $50 $100
Natural Products

2.2 Wildlife Protection

(a) (1) Poaching/Illegal Taking MA $500 + $100 each item

(a)(2) Bothering/Molesting/Feeding $30 $100

(a) (3) Possessing Unlawfully Taken Wildlife MA $100 item

(e) Use of Spotlight in Closed Area MA $200

2.3 Fishing Violations

(a) State Fishing Laws Applicable:
License Violations $30 $50
Taking Species During $30 $100 + $50 item
Closed Season, Bag
Limit or Size Limit

Other State Fishing Laws $30 $50

(d) (1) Fresh Water-Other Than By Hook and Line 530 $100

(d)(2) Fresh Water-Possessing/Using Live or $30  $50
Dead Bait

\d) (3) Fresh Water-Chumming $30 $100

(d) (4) Unauth. Commercial Fishing MA MA

(d) (5) Fishing by Use of Drugs/Poisons/ MA MA
Explosives/Electricity

(d)(6) Digging for Bait $30 $50

(d)(7) Size and Species Restrictions $30 $100 + $50 item

(d)(8) Fishing From Bridge or Swim Beach $30  $75

2.4 Weapons, Traps and Nets

(a) (1) (1) Possessing Weapon $50 $150

(a) (1) (i) Possessing Trap/Net $50  $100

(a) (1) (ii) cCarrying Weapon $50  $150

(a) (1) (ii) Carrying Trap/Net $50 $100

(a)(1l)(iii) Using Weapon $50  $200

(a) (1) (iii) Using Trap/Net $50 $150

(b) Carrying/Possessing Loaded Weapon in $50 $150
Vehicle/Vessel/Conveyance

(c) Using Weapon In Manner That Endangers MA MA
Persons/Property

(f) Carrying/Possessing Weapon in Violation $50  $150
of Applicable Federal/State Laws

Sect. Current Recomm.



2.5 Research Specimens

‘a) Collecting Without Permit $200 $200
2.10 Camping and Food Storage
(b) Camping Violations $30 $75
(d) Improper Food Storage $30 $50
2.11 Picnicking
Picnicking Violations $30 $50
2.12 Audio Disturbances
(a) Excessive Noise/Device $30 $100
2.13 Fires
(a)(l) Fire In Undesignated Area $30 $100
(a)(2) Using Stoves/Lanterns In Viol. $30 $75
of Established Conditions
(a)(3) Using Fire in Manner that Threatens or $30 $150
Causes Damage or Hazard
4) Leaving Fire Unattended $30 $75
(a)(5) Throwing/Discarding Lighted Material $30 $75
(b) Fire Not Extinguished After Use $30 $75
(c) Fire in Closed Area During High Fire Danger $30 $150
2.14 Sanitation and Refuse
(a) (1) Littering $30 $100
(a)(2) Disposing Household/Commercial $30 $200
; Refuse in Government Facilities
(a)(3) Depositing Trash Refuse in Toilet $30  $100
(a)(4) Draining Refuse From Trailer/Vehicle $30 $100
(a)(5) Bathing/Washing Food/Property at $30  $50
Undesignated Public Water Outlet
(a) (6) Polluting or Contaminating Water $30 $200
(a)(7) Disposing Fish Remains - Undesignated Area $30 $50
(a) (8) Disposing Human Waste in Developed Areas $30 $100
Outside of Restrooms
(a) (9) Disposing Human Waste in Undeveloped Areas $30 $100
Areas Within 100 Feet of Water or Trail
(b) Violating Conditions of Human Waste $30 $100
Carry-out Policy
2.15 Pets
(a) thru (f) (All Violations) $30 $50
2.16 Horses and Pack Animals
(a) thru (g) (All Violations) $30  $50
2.17 Aircraft and Air Delivery
(a) Landing on Undesignated Land/Waters $150 $150
(e) Using Hovercraft $150 $150
Sect. Current Recomm.



2.20 Skating, Skateboards and Similar Devices

§ Use In Undesignated Area $15 $30
2.21 Smoking

(a) In Closed Area $30 $50
2.22 Property

(a) (1) Abandoning Property $30 $300
(a)(2) Unattended Over 24 Hours $30 $100
2.23 Recreation Fees

(b) Entering Fee Area Without Paying $30 $100
2.30 Misappropriation of Property and Services

(a) thru (b) (All Violations) MA MA
2.31 Trespassing, Tampering, Vandalism

a)(l) Trespassing MA $100
(a)(2) Tampering MA $150
(a)(3) Vandalism MA $150
2.32 Interfering With Agency Functions

(a){1) Interfering/Resisting/Threatening MA $500
(a)(2) Disobey Lawful Order MA $500
(a)(3) False Information MA $250
(a)(4) False Report MA $250
j+33 Report of Injury or Damage

{b) Fail to Report Injury/Damage MA $100
2.34 Disorderly Conduct

(a)(l) Fighting/Threatening/Violent Behavior MA $200
(2) (2) Obscene/Threatening Language/Act MA $100
(a)(3) Unreasonable Noise MA 5100
(a)(4) Hazardous/Physically Offensive Condition MA $100
2.35 Alcoholic Beverages and Controlled Substances

(a) (2) (i) Sale/Gift Alcohol to Minor MA Sale-MA Gift-$100
(a)(2)(+%) Minor in Possession of Alcohol MA $100
(a) (3)(1iii) Consumption/Open Container in Closed Area $30 $50
(c) Public Intoxication (except DUI) MA $150
(b)(1) Delivery of Controlled Substance MA $250
(b)(2) Possession of Controlled Substance $50 5150
(c) Under Influence of Controlled Substance Ma $150
2.36 Gambling

(a) All Violations MA $100
Sect. Current Recomm.
2.37 Noncommercial Soliciting




Soliciting/Demanding Gifts/Money/Goods $30 $50
1. 38 Explosives
(a) Using/Possessing Explosives MA MA
(b) Using/Possessing Fireworks $30 $50
2.51 Public Assemblies, Meetings
(h) Obstructing/Impeding Pedestrians/ MA $200
Vehicles or Harassing Visitors
2.52 Sale or Distribution of Printed Matter
(h) Obstructing/Impeding Pedestrians/ MA $200
Vehicles or Harassing Visitors
2.60 Livestock Use and Agriculture
(a) Livestock Running at Large/Grazing or MA $200
Agriculture Violations
2.61 Residing on Federal Lands
(a) Residing Without Authorization MA $200
2.62 Memorialization
(b) Scattering of Human Ashes Without Permit MA $150
BOATING AND WATER USE ACTIVITIES
3.1 Applicable Requlations
a) assimilating following sections of 33 CFR and 46 CFR
33 CFR 87.3 Improper Use of Distress Signals $30 $150
33 CFR 159.7 Marine Sanitation Device $100 $100
33 CFR 173 Numbering $30  $50
33 CFR 173 Certificate of Numbers $30 $75
33 CFR 175 PFD Violations (rec. & rental vessels) $50 $50
33 CFR 175.110 Visual Distress Signals Required $30 $50
33 CFR 177.05 Fail to Terminate Voyage MA $500
33 CFR 177.07 Nav. Lights $30  $50
33 CFR 177.07 Fuel in Bilge $50 $50
33 CFR 177.07 Fuel Leak $50  $50
46 CFR 25.25 PFD Violations (comm. vessels) $50 $200
46 CFR 25.30 Fire Extinguisher $50 $50
46 CFR 25.35 Flame Arrestor $50 $50
46 CFR 25.40 Ventilation $50  $50
Other Applicable Regulations $30  $50
(a) assimilating 33 CFR 80.01 Providing for Compliance
with COLREGS and Inland Navigation Rules
Rule 5 Maintain Adequate Lookout $50 $150
Rule 6 Exceed Safe Speed $§50  $150
Rule 8 Fail to Take Action to Avoid Collision $50 $150
Rule 33 Sound Producing Devices $50  $50
Sect. Current Recomm.
3.4 Accidents




(b) Failure to Report Incident MA $150
L.S Inspections

Fail to Obey Directions of Boarding Officer MA $500
3.6 Prohibited Operations
(a) Reckless Operation $150 $400
(b) Operating Under Influence MA MA
(c) Regulatory Markers $30 $75
(d) No Wake Zone $30 $75
(e) Vessel Within 500 Feet of Swim Beach $30 $75
(£) Bow Riding $30 $75
(g) Attaching Vessel to Navigation Marker $30 $50
(1) Launching Vessel Propelled by $30 $75

Machinery at Undesignated Site
(k) Launching/Operating Airboats $150 $250
3.7 Noise Abatement

Excessive Noise $30 $50
3.20 Water Skiing

Waterskiing Violations $30  $50
3.21 Swimming and Bathing

Swimming Violations $30 $50
3.22 Surfing
i Surfboards Within Designated Swimming Beaches $30 $50
3.23 SCUBA and Snorkeling
(a) Within designated Swimming/Docking Areas $30 $50
(b) Without Displaying Diver Flag $30  $75
VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC SAFETY
4.2 State Law Applicable
FS 316.081 Travel Out of Proper Lane $30  $75
FS 316.085 Unsafe Passing $30  $75
FS 316.0875 Passing in No Passing Zone $30  §75
FS 316.0895 Following Too Closely $30  $75
FS 316.121 Unsafely Entering Unsigned Intersect. $30 $75
FS 316.122 Unsafe Left Turn $30  $75
FS 316.123 Unsafely Entering Signed Intersect. $30 $75
FS 316.192 Reckless Driving MA MA
FS 316.1935 Fleeing/Attempting to Elude MA MA
FS 316.211(1) Motorcycle Helmet Required $30  $50
FS 316.217(1) Lights Required-Night $30  §50
FS 316.220 Head Lamp Defective $30  $50
Sect. Current Recomn.
FS 316.221 Tail Lamp Defective $30 $50



FS 316.222 Stop Lamp/Turn Signal Defect. $30 $50
fs 316.405 Motorcycle Headlights $30 $50
IS 316.646 No Proof Of Insurance $30 $50
FS 320.07 Tag - None Or Expired $30 $50
FS 322.03 Driver’s License Expired $30 $50
FS 322.34 D/L Suspended/Revoked $30 $400
Other State Vehicle Laws $30 $50
4.4 Report of Motor Vehicle Accident
(c) Fail to Report Within 24 Hours MA $100
4.10 Travel on Park Roads and Designated Routes
(a) Travel Off Road/Parking Area $30 $100
4.11 Load, Weight and Size Limits
(Any Load, Weight, Size Violation) $30 $50
4,12 Traffic Control Devices
Fail to Comply - Parking $30 $30
Fail to Comply - Passing on Double Yellow $30 §75
Fail to Comply - Officer’s Signal $30 $100
Fail to Comply - Signs $30 $75
Other Traffic Control Violations $30 $75
4,13 Obstructing Traffic
(a) thru (b) (All Violations) $30  $75
.14 Open Container of Alcoholic Beverage
(b) Open Container In Motor Vehicle $30  $75
4.20 Right of Way
Fail to Yield to Pedestrian $30 $75
4.21 Speed Limits
(c) 1 - 5 Over Limit $10  $50
(c) 6 - 10 Over Limit $20 $75
(c) 11 - 15 Over Limit $30 $90
(c) 16 - 20 Over Limit 540 $115
(c) 21 - 25 Over Limit $50 $135
(c) 26 or Higher Over Limit $60 $155
4.22 Unsafe Operation
(b) (All Violations) $§30  $75
4,23 Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
(a) DUI MA $750 (first time DUI
only)
Sect Current Recomm.
4.30 Bicycles




’ All Violations $10 $25
4,31 Hitchhiking
Hitchhiking in Undesignated Area $10 $25
5.3 Unauthorized Business Operations
All Violations none $200

SPECIAL REGULATIONS
7.45 Everglades National Park Special Regqulations

(£)(2) Taking Ornamental Fish Prohibited $30 $100 + $50 item
(£)(2) Taking Spiny Lobster Prohibited $150 $150 + $50 item
(£)(3) Taking Oysters Except as Permitted $30 $75

(£)(4) Recreational Crabbing $30 $75

(£)(6) Bait Violations $30 §75

(£)(9) Possession/Use of Nets/Traps (commercial) $50 $500

(£)(11) Fishing in Closed Area, (Royal Palm, Sh.val) $30 $75

(£)(13) Fishing in Closed Areas, (Coot Bay, etc.) $30 $75

(f)(15) Prohibited Nets/Gear/Fish $150 $500

(f)(16) PFish Filet Restriction $30 8§75

(£)(17) Bag Limit - 10 species/20 total $30 $100 + $15 item
(g) (1) Boating in Closed Area (West Lake etc) $30 $75

(g)(2) Landing on Closed Keys $30 $75

"3) (3) Motor Boats in Prohibited Area $30  $75

) (4) Entering Wildlife Sanctuary $50 $100

(g) (5) Houseboat Permit Required $50 $50

(g) (6) Boating in Closed Area (Shark Valley) $30 $75

(h) (1) Unauthorized Commercial Fishing MA MA
7.27 Fort Jefferson National Monument

(a) Taking Ornamental Fish Prohibited $100 S$100 + $15 item
(a)(1l) Disturbing Turtles or Nests $250 $400

(a)(2) Commercial Lobstering $350 S$1000

(a) (3) Commercial Conching $350 S$1000

(a)(4) Commercial Fishing or Shrimping $350 MA

(a) (5) Bait Violations $50 $100

(a)(6) Fishing in closed Areas $125 $100
a)(7) Use/Possession Spears, Gigs, etc $§125 $150

(b) Anchoring Outside Designated Area $50  $100

(b) Violating Docking Policy $50  $100

(c) Aircraft Landing Restrictions $150 $150

7.86 Big Cypress National Preserve

Sect.

Current Recomm.



(a) (2)(1i)(A)
) (2)(11) (B)
@) (2)(111)
(a) (3) (1) (a)
(a)(3)(i)(B)
(a)(3)(1i1)(B)
(a)(3) (ii)(C)
(a)(3)(1i1) (D)
(c) (1)

(c)(2)

(e) (1)

Vehicles inside Loop Area

Vehicles on the Florida Trail
Motor Vehicle in Other Closed Area
Vehicle Permits Required

Use of Vehicles to Cause Damage
Spark Arresters Required

Vehicle Lights Required

Airboat Light/Flag Required
Landing/Use of Airstrip Without Permit
Rotorcraft Use Without Permit
Assimilated State Hunting/Fishing

Adopt State Fines Unless Shown Below

FS 372.9903

39-4.02 FAC

39-11.01 FAC
39-12.02 FAC
39-12.03 FAC
39-23.02 FAC
39-23.05 FAC

Illegal Possession of Game
Possession of Gun & Light

ORV Registration Required
General Methods of Taking Game
Protected Animals

General Methods of Fishing

Bag Limits for Freshwater Fish

$100
$35
$75
$75
$150
$35
$35
$35
MA
MA

$75

$35
$35
$150
$50
$35

5150
S$150
$150
$100
$250
$50

$50

$50

$150
$150

$250
$250
$75

$150
$250
$100
$100

+ $100 item

+ $50 item



BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT

VIOLA.IONS OF UNITED STATES CODE:

TITLE/SECTION Collateral fine
16/433 American Antiquities $100.00
18/1361 Vandalism $ 50.00
18/1852 Timber removed or transported Mandatory
Appearance
18/1853 Trees cut or injured Mandatory
Appearance
18/1856 Fires left unattended $ 50.00
18/1857 Fences destroyed; livestock entering $ 50.00
18/1858 Survey marks destroyed or removed Mandatory
Appearance
43/1061 Unlawful enclosure Mandatory
Appearance
43/1063 Obstruction of transit over Public Lands $100.00

VIOLATIONS OCCURRING WITHIN LANDS ADMINISTERED BY THE BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT

CHARGED UNDER CITED SECTIONS OF TITLE 43, CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS.
4140.1(b) (1) (1) Allowing livestock on Public Land without

permit or lease. $ 50.00

4140.1(b) (2) Disturbing or installing range improvements $ 50.00
4140.1(b) (3) Cutting, burning, spraying, destroying or

removing vegetation S 50.00
4140.1(b) (4) Damaging or removing U.S. Property $ 50.00
4140.1(b)(5) Molesting livestock $ 10.00
4140.1(b) (6) Littering $ 50.00
4140.1(b)(7) Interfering with lawful uses or users $ 50.00
4140.1(bj (&) False statements $100.00
4770.1(qg) Violating term or condition of private

maintenance and care agreement S 50.00
4770.1(h) Branding a Wild Horse or Burro $ 50.00
4770.1(3) Violating an order, term, or condition

establishad by the Authorized Officer

under this part. $100.00
8365.1-4(a) (2) Creating a hazard or nuisance $ 50.00
8365.1-4(a) (3) Refusing to disperse $ 50.00
8365.1-4(a) (4) Resisting arrest, citation; interfering Mandatory

with officer Appearance
8365.1-4(a)(5) Assault or battery on BLM Employee Mandatory

Appearance

8365.1-4(a) (6) False emergency or crime report $100.00
9264.7(a) (2) Converts Wild Horse or Burro to

private use S 50.00
92€4.7(a) (3) Causing death or harassment of Wild

Horse or Burro $100.00
9264.7(a) (4) Processes Wild Horse or Burro into

Commercial products $100.00
9264.7(a) (5) Selling Wild Horse or Burro $100.00
9264.7(a) (6) Uses Wild Horse or Burro for Commercial Mandatory

exploitation Appearance
9264.7(a)(7) Inhumane treatment of Wild Horse or Burro $100.00
9264.7(a) (8) Use of Wild Horse or Burro for Bucking

stock $ 50.00
9264.7(a)(9) Fails to produce Wild Horse or Burro

for inspection $100.00
9264.7(a) (10) Failure to notify of death of Wild Horse

or Burro $ 50.00
9264.7(a)(11) Removal or alteration of official mark Mandatory

Appearance



9264.7(a) (12)
9264.7(a) (13)

9264.7(a) (14)

9264.7(a) (15)

Abandoning Wild Horse or Burro

Failure to attempt to capture Wild Horse
or Burro

Accepting Wild Horse or Burro for
slaughter or destruction

Failure to retain Wild Horse or Burro
certification

$100.00
$ 50.00
Mandatory
Appearance

$100.00



